Check out
Pawfun.com

Follow me on
Twitter
Services
Bio
Contact
What Works Now
NEW Expanded Edition
PRESS RELEASES FROM HELL and How to Fix Them
The Traditional Press Release Is Dead! The Made-for-the-Internet Release is News Now.
Buy this Report.
REALITY PR STRATEGY: Everything You Need to Know to Get Free (or Really Cheap) Publicity Now. Before you spend another dime on PR, Buy this Report.


Sorry! SocialMinder is a Scam and I Fell for It.

socialminder.jpgI just spammed everyone to whom I've sent email - and that's a lot of people. That's because SocialMinder (nope, I won't link to them) is a spamming scam that I and a lot of other web savvy people fell for it.

I'm fuming, and I don't suffer silently. SocialMinder violated my trust and my contacts' privacy. I profusely apologize if I have spammed you through them.

Because my friends are a pretty well-connected group, I often get invites to Betas of new software and sites. So I didn't check out SocialMinder's privacy policy, and went ahead and signed up. It was a big mistake, and a dumb one. I should know better.

If I spammed you, I am sorry. I changed my gMail and LinkedIn passwords, and suggest you do the same if you've gotten email from SocialMinder.

Related: SocialMinder = Fail


Categories: Worst Practices
BL Ochman | Nov 11 08 1:56 | TrackBack (0)

Comments

so, did they just automatically forward an invite to all of your contacts?

the first thing that was fishy to me was that the email said it was a "closed alpha", which usually means i would need some sort of invite code. when they didn't make the invite code a required field, i got suspicious and checked the privacy policy -- which wasn't reassuring, since it said that they keep your email and LinkedIn passwords on file.

Posted by: Robert at November 11, 2008 2:42 PM

This service works fine. Obviously you didn't read the directions. You can't send invites to your friends without clicking on the boxes next to them and then clicking "continue".

Way to rush judgment without merit.

Posted by: Jason Kintzler at November 11, 2008 6:08 PM

BL, I so apologise for the same thing to you! I was in a terrible rush early today and I thought I was doing a favour to a friend whose email was used to forward this to me when I sign up to 'test' the app. I did notice the text about how I will need to invite friends to get full upgrade/service but it never occured to me in my there won't be some final confirmation before I actually send something. I probably would have bailed out by then anyway!

My bad, it's stupid and I ought to know better - but it's 2008. I also get a lot of apps to test so had no reason to suspect this was any different - especially coming from a friend I know is in that line of business!

I dread to think of all the people I spammed in my contacts. Sigh. Sorry again.

Posted by: Adriana at November 11, 2008 6:10 PM

B.L., it's okay. We're all human. Who wouldn't want to let their friends know of an easier way to keep up with each other!

Posted by: Michelle / chelpixie at November 12, 2008 9:31 AM

BL, knowing how you feel about such things I was surprised when an invite to SocialMinder from you showed up in my inbox. But, hey, I've done the same damn thing with one of the other of the many social media spam/scam sites. So, cut yourself some slack. As Michelle says, "We're all human."

Posted by: Paul Chaney at November 12, 2008 5:19 PM

SocialMinder responded exactly appropriately to the reaction in this blog and others, I think:

http://www.socialminder.com/we-made-a-mistake-and-we-have-changed-our-approach/

The blog title says it all, but the details are interesting.

full disclosure: I own the offshore development company that coded most of the SocialMinder application.

Posted by: Paul Klipp at December 1, 2008 7:34 AM

So, how are we going to prevent our privete email from this kind of spammer? Is there any script available used to protect our mail?

Posted by: iyang at December 2, 2008 3:55 AM

Post a comment




Remember Me?

(you may use HTML tags for style)





Email this story to a friend







TrackBacks

TrackBack URL for this entry:
http://www.whatsnextonline.com/mt/mt-tb.cgi/4388

Search


Join the What's Next Blog mailing list
Email:

Contact: BL (at) whatsnextonline (dot) com
212.369.8312


blog advertising


About BL Ochman
BL Ochman
Blogger, social media strategy consultant to Fortune 500 companies, and sought-after corporate speaker B.L. Ochman heads the creative team of whatsnextonline.com. She also is the co-founder of Pawfun.com, the custom photo t-shirt site for pet lovers


Poll ID 0 does not exist.



top 25 marketing blog

B.L.'s flickr photos




    Categories