Check out
Pawfun.com

Follow me on
Twitter
Services
Bio
Contact
What Works Now
NEW Expanded Edition
PRESS RELEASES FROM HELL and How to Fix Them
The Traditional Press Release Is Dead! The Made-for-the-Internet Release is News Now.
Buy this Report.
REALITY PR STRATEGY: Everything You Need to Know to Get Free (or Really Cheap) Publicity Now. Before you spend another dime on PR, Buy this Report.


A Really Evil New Pay Pal Phisher Fraud by "Omegamove.com"

Here's a truly evil new phising fraud: I got an email that looked like a Pay Pal email. It contained a receipt for a watch I didn't buy. Among the giveaways beside the fact that OmegaMove.com is not a watch company site, the "To" address was "undisclosed recipients":

Subject: Your payment has been sent to mailto:sales@omegamove.com

Item: Omega Constellation Men{sic} Watch - mint

This email confirms that you have paid OMEGAMOVE (sales@omegamove.com) $395.85 using Pay Pal.
The credit card transaction will appear on your bill as "PAYPAL OMEGAMOVE"

Shipping info: James Dickinson
184 Hadley Dr
Chicago, IL 60614

The psychology behind this scam is really nasty. They figure you will say "What! I didn't buy that! I'm not James Dickinson" and that you will click on the link where you can "dispute transaction" you didn't make, and tell the slime bucket scammers that you are not James Dickinson. Of course you have to give the lying pond scum your Pay Pal account information at that site.

That's evil. PayPal confirms that the email is fraudulent, and says they are investigating.


Categories: Worst Practices
BL Ochman | Mar 6 06 11:31 | TrackBack (0)

Comments

I just recieved an email this morning that is exact to this one from paypal or whatever. Should i contact anyone about this or just ignore it?

Posted by: April at March 22, 2006 10:11 AM

7/13/06 Got the same one today. Fortunately I have no credit cards at present. Someone needs to tie a method to these evildoers that sends a high voltage through their computers and stop all this total crap. Between these rips, Viagra ads, stock tips and a bunch of other mess, I spend as much time getting rid of the bad emails as I do the valid ones. Good luck.

Posted by: Quin Morrison at July 13, 2006 11:08 AM

I just got one today. I forwarded it to spoof@paypal.com.

Posted by: veronica at August 5, 2006 2:24 AM

The Sad Part is there are slower people out there that may end up falling for this as well
as the E-Bay Spoof's I receive almost on a daily basis...
RJ

Posted by: RJ at August 5, 2006 9:33 PM

I got the email too.

The IP address of their site is 216.120.231.254

It leads one to a webhosting company. I notified that one of their users may be doing the phishing.

Mike.

Posted by: Mike at March 30, 2007 6:43 PM

Wow this is an old email and I just got that today on an email address that is not connected to paypal or ebay. Today is 2/12/2008

Paypay can't explain to me why these evil people are sending this to an email address that has not nor will ever be connected to paypal. I do wish that these people would have some bad punishment. Death may be extreme but I do wish they would be imprisoned for a very long time. In the end, these people will get theirs. If not soon when they die and meet God for their lying stealing evil ways.

Posted by: Barry at February 12, 2008 10:43 AM

I just got one of these Emails today, same thing. I don't know whether I can even trust this sight! If this has been going on for 2 years, why hasn't anyone stopped it? I reported it to paypal, but that's all I think I can do.

Posted by: Nancy at March 18, 2008 2:17 PM

looks like they have been doing this for a couple of years, now that i have gotten one and looked
into it, it was a suprize and very official looking

Posted by: gene at March 19, 2008 12:08 PM

bring back capital punishment. I would gladly be the hang-woman. death for evil lying cheating scum IS the only suitable outcome.

Posted by: ellie at March 27, 2008 11:25 AM

I got this same email today,i hope they get caught!!

Posted by: stan at May 6, 2008 10:18 PM

I just got it today. >_

Posted by: David at May 12, 2008 6:37 PM

Open the message with FULL HEADERS and retrieve the IP numbers, then check with Whois. You will see that the sender is usually located in West Africa, most probably Nigeria. NOTHING you can do. ALL African governments (NO exceptions) are almost as corrupt as the Bush administration and Labour in the UK.

Sowwy.

Posted by: clarence at June 27, 2008 12:09 PM

Post a comment




Remember Me?

(you may use HTML tags for style)





Email this story to a friend







TrackBacks

TrackBack URL for this entry:
http://www.whatsnextonline.com/mt/mt-tb.cgi/2992

Search


Join the What's Next Blog mailing list
Email:

Contact: BL (at) whatsnextonline (dot) com
212.369.8312


blog advertising


About BL Ochman
BL Ochman
Blogger, social media strategy consultant to Fortune 500 companies, and sought-after corporate speaker B.L. Ochman heads the creative team of whatsnextonline.com. She also is the co-founder of Pawfun.com, the custom photo t-shirt site for pet lovers


Poll ID 0 does not exist.



top 25 marketing blog

B.L.'s flickr photos




    Categories